Many people automatically assume that drivers in certain age groups are more unsafe than others. While it is true that there are some age groups that have a higher probability of being in a crash, there are many different factors that play a role in how likely someone is to be involved in a wreck.
Teen drivers comprise 3.5% of licensed drivers, but they account for 6% of drivers involved in fatal crashes. They’re also the drivers in 8.9% of all crashes. A look at the statistics reveals that the crash rate per 100,000 drivers decreases with age.
Interestingly, the fatal crash rate of drivers who are 25 to 34 years old has the highest percentage of fatal crashes. That age demographic accounts for just over 22% of all fatal crashes, but accounts for only 16.9% of all drivers on the road. Still, improving the safety of all drivers starts with ensuring new drivers have the experience they need to make solid decisions while driving.
How is California working to improve teen driver safety?
California uses a graduated licensing system to try to minimize the number of teen drivers who are involved in crashes. This enables the new drivers to gain valuable experience before they get out on the road by themselves.
A teen must have a learner’s permit for at least 6 months and get at least 50 hours of practice with a driver who’s 25 or older. At least 10 of those hours must be at night.
Drivers from 16 to 18 years old can have a provisional license that allows them to drive without an adult present. There are very strict limits that come with this license and the teen must have it at least 12 months.
Once the driver turns 18, they can have a full license, but must successfully complete the two prior stages. There are limits present for the first year that a teen has this type of license.
Seeking compensation for a vehicle crash doesn’t depend on the age of the driver. Whether there’s a new driver or an elderly driver who caused the wreck, victims can turn to a personal injury claim to try to recover money for things like medical care expenses and lost wages. There are time limits built into California law so be sure you act quickly.