Size. Strength.
Resources. Reputation.

4 classification levels for burn injuries

On Behalf of | Mar 6, 2024 | Injuries |

Burn injuries can be classified based on their severity. This classification is used to determine what type of treatment is necessary. It can also tell victims about their potential injuries and the path to recovery.

There are four general classifications that are used by medical professionals, which are as follows.

First-degree burns

These are more superficial burns on the outer layer of the skin, called the epidermis. They may hurt and be red, but they don’t blister or scar, and they generally heal on their own relatively quickly.

Second-degree burns

These are known as partial thickness burns, and they can lead to blistering and swelling. The lower dermis layer is damaged, not just the outer epidermis.

Third-degree burns

Also called full thickness burns, these are very severe. The epidermis and dermis are completely destroyed and removed, and there can be damage to underlying tissues or even organs. Nerve damage is very common.

Fourth-degree burns.

Finally, there are some fourth-degree burns, which are when other organs or body parts have also been burned. This could include tendons, muscles or bones themselves. Interestingly, the victim may not have any pain because the nerves have been entirely destroyed. But there can be extreme pain during healing and complete healing is not always possible, so serious burns sometimes lead to extensive scarring.

If you suffered a burn injury due to someone else’s negligence, then you may have a right to financial compensation. This could be provided due to pain and suffering, medical bills, lost wages and much more. You need to ensure that you know what legal steps to take to seek the compensation you deserve.

Over 250 Million Dollars In Verdicts & Settlements


Construction Site Accident


Wrongful Death


Football Injury


Construction Accident


Motorcycle Accident